After the rowing event was over I decided to stay in the town of Windsor and explore a little before heading back. Windsor is home to a real castle that is still in use by the Queen of England. I had lunch in a nice quiet cafe away from the tourist area. Once I was fed and mostly dry I walked up towards the castle. I expected it to be busy since it was a Saturday but there were people everywhere. I typically prefer to avoid tourist type activities but one of the fellows in the trip highly recommended the castle tour. I got in line and paid the £20 enterence fee and rushed over to the church to see it before it closed. I don't have any pictures of the inside but it was pretty awesome. There were many kings and queens buried inside, and some of the most beautiful artwork I have ever seen. I then continued on to the castle. I started out in the doll collection room and continued in to the Queens private apartments. We got to see all of the reception and great hall venues, as well as some of the bedrooms and dressing rooms. In the banquet room there was a video playing showing one of the most recent events they had attended by diplomats and politicians from many countries. It was really cool seeing the room empty and in use.
I would highly recommend visiting the Windsor castle to all future visitors. It was worth the high enterence fee and fighting the crowds. I only wish we had learned about British history in school so I knew more about the rulers and events that happened.

Once my feet were sufficiently tired I got back on the train to Paddington. I actually feel asleep, and luckily woke up one stop before mine. Once I made it back to kings cross I went out for Indian food with a few friends and then we went to the House of Nations club to hang out for a bit. It was a long but full day.
Picture
Kids playing on one of the mascots at the rowing venue



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Leslie is a student at Oregon State University and is part of the women's rowing team. These are her experiences traveling to the 2012 London Summer Olympics!