The last day we were in London I got to meet up with Patricia at the Canada House. It was interesting trying to get in. The guard ignored us for a while, probably because we weren't in Canadian gear. Then he asked if we were on the list, which we weren't. After identifying myself and saying I was a friend of an athlete they let us into the security room. Patricia already had too many people on her list, but they decided to give us temporary passes so we could go inside and see her for a few minutes. It was mayhem inside. Everyone was decked out in red and white so we stuck out. After a quick search I spotted Patricia and got to spend a half an hour catching up with her and drinking the free beer. It was pretty cool being surrounded by athletes relaxing after their events. I wish I had tried to visit some of the open houses during my free days, but it would have been hard to blend in at the Irish house. I did appreciate how open the Canadian house was though, it was really nice of them to even listen to our request, much less let us in.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Leslie is a student at Oregon State University and is part of the women's rowing team. These are her experiences traveling to the 2012 London Summer Olympics!