I spent the morning at the eton dorney rowing course watching several different events. I got up at five to make it to the course by 9. Traveling is free with the event ticket, and everything is so well marked. The only problem is that kings cross doesn't open until 5:30 and there are no trains until later. The Starbucks wasn't even open, and there were plenty of people still making their way home after a night out. I met a friend who had gotten me the tickets through the lottery and we bussed out to the station to catch the train. It was a decently long train ride but it was cool to see the country side. There were buses waiting for us that took us right to the venue. I was not expecting the crowds. There were plenty of current and ex rowers but there were also a lot of locals just excited to see GB race. We had great seats at about the 150 meter mark right across from a big screen.
The racing was really exciting, especially when GB was competing. We saw the men's 1x, women's 1x, women's 8, women's lw2x and light mens 4-. They sent off the races on 10 minute centers so there was not much time to be bored or run to get a drink. I was with two girls who didn't know much about rowing so it was cool to try to teach the as much as I could. They also had a learn to row tent with ergs, and had a 30 second race after a minute of instruction. Of course I went to try the race, thinking I could beat everyone. Sadly I was beaten by my friend Katie Tai, who was wearing skinny jeans. But in my defense, she has been working out a ton post rowing and is very strong still. And it was only by .3 of a second.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Leslie is a student at Oregon State University and is part of the women's rowing team. These are her experiences traveling to the 2012 London Summer Olympics!