Prior to leaving for London I took a class called sociocultural dimensions of physical activity. In this class my eyes were opened to all of the things that oppress us and prevent us from being physically active. I did my research project on Title IX and analyzed the effectiveness of the program in creating equal opportunity in sport specifically with OSU's sports teams. I feel very lucky to have Title IX because my position on the Women's rowing team would not exist otherwise. Doing research on the history of Title IX and the people who made it happen made me even more appreciative of all that has been provided to me.

Then I started reading articles about the Olympics in preparation for my trip, and I came across the controversy of Saudi Arabia not allowing female athletes to compete. This was shocking to me at first. To not have the support of your country behind you simply because of your gender would be very difficult. There is zero opprotunity for female athletes to develop. The Olympic charter describes sport as a human right, so countries that are in clear violation should not be allowed to compete. With enough arm twisting Saudi Arabia allowed two women to compete. One of the athletes lives and competes in California, and the other was not allowed to compete in a head covering and dropped out. What appeared to be a giant step forward on paper for women's rights was actually more of a small stumble. The International Olympic Committee needs to start handing out sanctions for failing to comply with the Olympic charter and deny participation if necessary. The IOC also needs to reevaluate their position on allowing alternate clothing to comply with personal or religious preferences. They took a step this year in allowing long pants and sleeves for Beach Volleyball, but only because the weather was threatening to be cold. If is unlikely that the ruling will stand in Rio, but it does create opprotunity for conservative athletes to compete, so it should stand. In the next four years, I hope the IOC will reevaluate their own compliance with the Olympic charter and make the Olympics possible for people of all religions, genders, and ethnicities.

Being a part of the Olympic Academic Experience has opened my eyes to all of the issues surrounding human rights that still exist, and the Olympics demonstrates those inequalities on an international stage. I will continue to follow the IOC in the news, and I am excited to see how much development in this area will occur before the 2016 summer Olympics in Rio.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Leslie is a student at Oregon State University and is part of the women's rowing team. These are her experiences traveling to the 2012 London Summer Olympics!